

P.O. Box 948 Nome, Alaska 99762 Phone (907) 443-5231 Fax (907) 443-4452 www.kawerak.org

Committee Member Listing - March 2020

Executive Committee

(Selected every even numbered year at the Spring Full Board Meeting)

Chairman: Frank Katchatag

1st Vice Chair: Robert Keith

2nd Vice Chair: Gloria Karmun

Treasurer: Barbara Gray

Secretary: Kirsten Timbers

Sergeant-at-Arms: Anna Oxereok

Member: Lloyd Kiyutelluk

Board Standing Committees

Committee Name

Meeting Location

Natural Resources Committee

Staff Support: NR Division VP Chairman: Merlin Koonooka

Talialuk Boardroom

Diomede Representative
Benjamin Payenna
Lucy Apatiki
Amos Brown Sr.
Leo Charles
Marian Mike
Charlie Fitka Jr.

Education & Employment Support Services Committee

Staff Support: EESS Division VP Vice Chair: Lucy Oquilluk

Katirvik Cultural Center

Robert Keith
Kirsten Timbers
Preston Rookok – NSHC Representative
John C. Lockwood
Larry Kava
Lloyd Kiyutelluk



KAWERAK, INC.

P.O. Box 948 Nome, Alaska 99762 Phone (907) 443-5231 Fax (907) 443-4452 www.kawerak.org

Committee Member Listing - March 2020

Community Services Committee

Staff Support: CSD VP Chairwoman: Anna Oxereok

Ublugiaq Boardroom

Barbara Gray Gilbert Tocktoo Axel Jackson Janelle Menadelook Irene Navarro, Vice Chair Gloria Karmun

The following are Committees that may or may not meet in conjunction with the Full Board meetings;

Kawerak Elders Advisory: (Staff Support: Eskimo Heritage Program Staff)

- 1. Merlin Koonooka, Chairman Gambell & Kawerak Board Representative
- 2. Charlie Fitka, Jr., Kawerak Board Representative St. Michael
- 3. Maria Dexter Golovin
- 4. Merlin Henry Koyuk
- 5. Ellen Richard Wales
- 6. John Pullock King Island Native Community
- 7. Willa Ashenfelter White Mountain

Board Policy Committee: (staff support: HR Director, Darlene Trigg)

(Filled when a seat becomes vacant)

Ublugiaq Boardroom

- 1. Frank Katchatag, Chair
- 2. Lucy Oquilluk
- 3. Kirsten Timbers
- 4. Gilbert Tocktoo
- 5. Barbara Gray

Board Policy Committee Appeal Committee:

(Filled when a seat becomes vacant)

- 1. Frank Katchatag
- 2. Kirsten Timbers / Benjamin Payenna (alt)
- 3. Robert Keith / Gilbert Tocktoo (alt)

Audit and Investment Committee:

- 1. Chairman, Frank Katchatag
- 2. Treasurer, Gloria Karmun
- 3. CEO, Melanie Bahnke
- 4. CFO, Donna Ray



KAWERAK, INC.

P.O. Box 948 Nome, Alaska 99762 Phone (907) 443-5231 Fax (907) 443-4452 www.kawerak.org

Committee Member Listing - March 2020

ARDOR/Board Planning Committee: (staff support: CSD Staff)

- 1. Seat J: (Brevig Mission, Diomede, Shishmaref, Teller & Wales) Anna Oxereok/Gilbert Tocktoo (alt) 9/2020
- 2. Seat K: (Elim, Golovin, Koyuk and White Mountain) Robert Keith/ Leo Charles (alt) 9/2020
- 3. Seat L: (Shaktoolik, Stebbins, St. Michael and Unalakleet) Axel Jackson/Charlie Fitka Jr. (alt) 9/2020
- 4. Seat M: (Gambell and Savoonga) Larry Kava/Lucy Oquilluk (alt.) 9/2020
- 5. Seat N: (Council, King Island, NEC and Solomon) Barbara Gray/ Benjamin Payenna (alt) 9/2020
- 6. Seat I: (Kawerak Board) Frank Katchatag, Chairman / Benjamin Payenna (alt) 9/2020

(Board Chair + Board Sub-regional Appointments 3 year terms - appt in SPRING BOD mtg)

The following is a list of other Board appointments routinely made by the Kawerak Board;

National TSG Advisory Council: (Statewide Appointment)
Robert Keith

RurAL CAP:

Barbara Gray (seated 03/2020) / Melanie Bahnke (alt) & Mary David (alt)

Alaska Village Initiatives:

Business Planning Specialist / Leo Charles (alt.) – Representative (seated 04/2019)

Norton Sound Health Corporation:

Chair / 1st Vice Chair / 2nd Vice Chair

Alaska Native Coalition on Employment & Training: (EESS Director holds position)
Luisa Machuca

Inuit Circumpolar Council:

Mary David / Donna James (alt) – Kawerak Representative Merlin Koonooka – Bering Straits Elder Representative (term: 2018-2022)

Regional Wellness Forum: (Staff Support: Wellness Coordinator)

Kawerak:

1. Gloria Karmun / Barbara Gray (alt)

NSHC:

1. Alice Fitka



KAWERAK, INC.

P.O. Box 948 Nome, Alaska 99762 Phone (907) 443-5231 Fax (907) 443-4452 www.kawerak.org

Committee Member Listing - March 2020

Bering Straits Regional Housing Authority Board of Commissioners: (3 year terms)

- 1. Northern Seat: Gilbert Tocktoo / Lucy Oquilluk (alt) (expires 10/15/20)
- 2. Island Seat: Brianne Gologergan / June Walunga (alt) (expires 12/31/22) jjwalunga@gci.net
- 3. Nome Based Tribes Seat: Kirsten Timbers, Chair / Ruth Ojanen (alt) (expires 12/31/22) oonga4me@hotmail.com
- 4. <u>Southern Seat</u>: Frank Katchatag, Treasurer / Amos Brown Sr. (alt) (expires 10/15/20) frankk@nsedc.com
- 5. Global Seat: Eugene Asicksik / Louie Green Jr. (alt) (expires 12/31/19)

Northwest Campus Council:

Luisa Machuca / Lucy Oquilluk, EESS Committee Member (alt)

AYKSSI Steering Committee:

Brandon Ahmasuk / Austin Ahmasuk (alt) - Serves at the pleasure of the BOD

Alaska Legal Services:

June Walunga (non-attorney) 3 year term expires 05/2021 Lloyd Kiyutelluk (non-attorney alt) 3 year term expires 03/2023

Tumet Board:

<u>Village Group A</u>: Berda Willson / Wesley Okbaok alternate; 3-year term expires 1/31/20

Village Group B: Mary Freytag / alternate; 3 year term expires 1/31/22

<u>Village Group C</u>: Martin Aukongak / Paul Nagaruk alternate; 3 year term expires 1/31/22 Village Group D: Sherman Richard / Lloyd Kiyutelluk alternate; 3 year term expires 1/31/21

Kawerak Representatives:

Seat E: Amos Brown Sr. / Irene Navarro, 3 year term expires 1/31/23

Seat F: Merlin Koonooka / Leo Charles (alt.), 3 year term expires 1/31/23

Seat G: Charlie Fitka Jr. / Benjamin Payenna, 3 year term expires 1/31/22

Unaatuq Board:

Melanie Bahnke / Mary David (alt) - Serves at the pleasure of the BOD

Northern Bering Sea Regional Aquaculture Association: (NoBSRAA)

Roy Ashenfelter/ Brandon Ahmasuk (alt) 3 year term expires 03/2023