The Kawerak Board consists of the Council Presidents or appointed delegates of the 20 federally recognized tribes, two Elder representatives and the chair of the Norton Sound Health Corporation Board.

When established as the regional nonprofit in 1973,  Kawerak’s vision was to provide services to the region and to preserve our cultures for the next generations. Thanks to the leadership and dedication of our Board of Directors, we are driven with that vision; we constantly look for new ways to ensure that our people and tribes are thriving now and in the future.

Our Board

McGann, Frank Katchatag
McGann, Frank KatchatagChairman - Unalakleet
Adat, Benjamin Payenna
Adat, Benjamin Payenna1st Vice Chair - King Island
Angelraq, Robert Keith
Angelraq, Robert Keith2nd Vice Chair - Elim
Kayuktoruk, Kirsten Timbers
Kayuktoruk, Kirsten TimbersSecretary - Solomon
Irene Navarro
Irene NavarroTreasurer - Golovin
Tunnaaniq, Gilbert Tocktoo
Tunnaaniq, Gilbert TocktooBrevig Mission
Barbara Gray
Barbara GrayCouncil
Samantha Ozenna
Samantha OzennaDiomede
June Walunga
June WalungaGambell
Archie Ervin
Archie ErvinKoyuk
Punikshuk, Lucy Oquilluk
Punikshuk, Lucy OquillukMary's Igloo
Gloria Karmun
Gloria KarmunNome Eskimo Community
John Lockwood
John LockwoodSt. Michael
Alaq, Larry Kava
Alaq, Larry KavaSavoonga
Saghghan, Axel Jackson
Saghghan, Axel JacksonShaktoolik
Carol Ningeulook
Carol NingeulookShishmaref
Marian Mike
Marian MikeStebbins
Janelle Menadelook
Janelle MenadelookTeller
Kunungnunna, Anna Oxereok
Kunungnunna, Anna OxereokWales
Amos Brown Sr.
Amos Brown Sr.White Mountain
Paapi, Merlin Koonooka
Paapi, Merlin KoonookaElder
Charlie Fitka Jr
Charlie Fitka JrElder
Preston Rookok
Preston RookokNorton Sound Health Corporation